REPORT OF THE Chief Executive PART I

1. HONORARY ALDERMAN

- 1.1 By virtue of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 ("the 1972 Act") the title of Honorary Alderman can be conferred by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the Members present and voting at a meeting of the Council especially convened for that purpose, on persons who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the Council as past Members of the County Council. The title of Honorary Alderman cannot be conferred on an existing Member of the Council.
- 1.2 At the meeting of the County Council on 27 May 2021 the Leader of the Council, proposed conferring the title of Honorary Alderman on former County Councillors Christopher Carter, Peter Edgar MBE, Roy Perry and David Simpson for the title to be conveyed at a future meeting of the Council.

2. Christopher Carter

- 2.1 Christopher Carter served as a County Councillor for Leesland and Town from 2009 until 2021.
- 2.2 He began his service as a member of the Regulatory and Employment in Hampshire County Council Committees and the Pension Fund Panel. He served on the Community Safety Partnership in Gosport from 2009 to 2021 and was Chairman of the Southern area Hampshire Road Safety Committee. He was a member of the Children & Young People Select Committee, and Vice Chairman of the Health & Adult Social Care Select Committee from 2011 to 2017 and the Culture & Communities Select Committee from 2017 to 2021.
- 2.3 He was a member of the Hampshire Fire and Rescue Authority (HFRA) from 2009 until 2021 becoming Chairman in 2015, also serving on the Finance & General Purposes and the Standards Committee. From 2019 until 2021 he was on the HFRA Stakeholder Committee which oversaw the implementation of the joint Hampshire and Isle of Wight Fire and Rescue Authority, which he then chaired from 2020 to 2021.
- 2.4 Outside bodies on which he represented the County Council included Gosport Museum JMC, Friends of the Royal Naval Museum and HMS Victory, Royal Navy Submarine Museum, Mary Rose Trust, Prince's Trust, Nuffield Theatre Trust Board of Management, Hampshire and Isle of Wight Trust for Maritime Archaeology, Hampshire Old Industrial & Reformatory Schools Trust Fund Managing Trustees (HOIRST) and Tourism South East.

3. Peter Edgar MBE

- 3.1 Peter Edgar served as a County Councillor for Leesland and Town from 2005 until 2021.
- 3.2 He was a member of the Children's Services Policy Review Committee, later the Children & Young People Select Committee, becoming Vice-Chairman from 2009 to 2010, and the Health Review Committee, later Health Scrutiny and Overview Committee, from 2005 to 2012. From 2005 to 2007 he served on the Solent Transport Strategy Panel, the Gosport Peninsula Access Panel as Vice-Chairman, and as Vice-Chairman on the Youth Panel.
- 3.3 From 2006 to 2010 he was on Regulatory Committee B, County Highway Management & Transport Advisory Panels for Gosport, Hampshire Action Team (HAT) for Fareham & Gosport as Vice Chairman, and the Culture & Communities Select Committee.
- 3.4 He became the Assistant Executive Member for Education from 2009 to 2013 and chaired the Education Advisory Panel from 2010 to 2018. He became the Executive Member for Education in 2013 to 2018. He was also a member of the Children and Families Advisory Panel from 2018 to 2019 and the Corporate Parenting Board from 2019 to 2021.
- 3.5 Outside bodies on which he represented the County Council included South Hampshire Rapid Transit Procurement Panel, Gosport Museum, Gosport Council of Community Service/Gosport Voluntary Action, Hampshire Museum Trust, Royal Marines Museum, and the Genesis Youth Centre Executive Committee.

4. Roy Perry

- 4.1 Roy Perry served as a County Councillor from 2005 to 2021, representing the Division of Romsey Extra until 2017 and then the revised boundary of Romsey Rural. He was Leader of the County Council from 2013 to 2019.
- 4.2 He began his service as the Executive Member for Community Development and External Affairs from 2005 to 2008. In that role he established the Hampshire interfaith Network and was elected inaugural Co-Chairman.
- 4.3 He was Deputy Leader of the Council from 2008 to 2013, also holding the portfolio of Executive Lead Member for Children's Services from 2010.
- 4.4 Outside bodies on which he represented the County Council included the Local Government Association (Member of the Executive Board and Chairman of the Children and Young People Board and the Audit Committee), Hampshire and Isle of Wight Local Government Association (HIOWLGA), South East England Councils (SEEC) becoming Chairman from 2017 to 2021, South East 7 Board, South East Strategic Leaders, County Councils Network, Arc Manche/Channel Arc, Assembly of European Regions (AER) becoming Vice President, the Health and Wellbeing Board, Southern England Local Partners, Partnership for Urban South Hampshire (PUSH), King Edward VI School Southampton Governing Body and the Hampshire Cultural Trust.

4.5 He stood down as Leader of the Council in 2019 and in the final two years as a County Councillor was Chairman of the Standing Advisory Council for Religious Education.

5. David Simpson

- 5.1 David Simpson served as a County Councillor from 2005 to 2021, initially for Hartley Wintney, Eversley & Yateley West and then the revised boundary of Hartley Wintney & Yateley West from 2017.
- 5.2 He was a member of the Environment Policy Review Committee, which later became the Economy, Transport and Environment (Overview and Scrutiny) Select Committee from 2005 to 2021 and the Regulatory Committee from 2005 to 2019. From 2006 to 2007 he served on the County Highway Management and Transport Advisory Panels (Hart).
- 5.3 From 2005 to 2021, he was also a member of Hampshire Fire and Rescue Authority serving on the Finance & General Purposes Committee and the Performance Review & Scrutiny Committee from 2005 to 2017, and the Crime and Disorder Reduction Community Safety Partnership (Hart) from 2009 to 2015. He was the Retained Firefighters Champion in the final years of his service, visiting many stations.
- 5.4 He served on a number of other committees during his terms, including the Children & Young People Select Committee and the Safe and Healthy People Select Committee, as well as the Standing Advisory Council for Religious Education and the Employment in Hampshire County Council Committee.
- 5.5 Outside bodies on which he represented the County Council included Blackbushe Airport Consultative Committee and the Yateley Common Management Committee.

RECOMMENDATION

That the County Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former County Councillor Christopher Carter, Peter Edgar MBE, Roy Perry and David Simpson.